Westlaw Canada features

The trusted tool for researchers in the legal industry

Learn about the content and features that have made Westlaw Canada the most reliable legal research platform for generations

Advanced legal technology & tools

Westlaw provides you with the most up-to-date content and leading technology for your research

More relevant, inclusive search results

Canada’s most advanced legal search engine is designed to help you deliver the best results, quickly and with more confidence.

KeyCite® Canada - Case and Legislative Citator 

Access a network of links from primary law to a wealth of supporting material to help you understand the law.

Better organized and connected content 

Organize and share your research more efficiently. Create, favourite, and share folders for organized access to your firm’s legal research.

Integration 

Cross Product Information provides you the added convenience of seeing search results and links to other resources such as eLooseleafs on Thomson Reuters® ProView and Practical Law.

Convenient filtering and re-sorting options 

Focus on the information that is most important to you.  

Custom Pages 

Personalize your online legal research experience by creating a page that’s ideal for the way you work. Organize your favourite content and research tools and clear away the rest.

Drafting Assistant 

Streamline the drafting process with comprehensive tools and information. Drafting Assistant Litigation is included in all Westlaw subscriptions.

Alert Management Centre 

Ensure the right information is being delivered to the right people across your organization in a timely and efficient way.

Primary law sources

Westlaw offers the most comprehensive, accurate, and up-to-date collection of legal information

Cases 

Access to an extensive collection of important cases. You'll find coverage of unreported court decisions from 1986 forward and reported court decisions dating back to 1977. You can also view decisions that were published in Carswell's law reports from their inception and decisions predating 1977 from Westlaw's key courts and law report series.

Legislation

Pending Legislation appearing along with current legislation helps you anticipate amendments not yet in force. Concordances of Legislation let you compare similar legislation in other jurisdictions as an aid to interpretation and understanding. 

The Canadian Abridgment 

A comprehensive collection of over a million digests of Canadian case law organized by legal issue according to a single taxonomy (The Canadian Abridgment Key Classification System). This collection is exclusive to Thomson Reuters, and covers virtually every reported or unreported case received from the courts since 1986, with the exception of Quebec civil law cases. 

Canadian Encyclopedic Digest 

The C.E.D. is a great place to begin your legal research. It provides you with a clear overview of any legal topic and gives you context to cases and legislation relevant to your issue. Over 225 subjects are listed alphabetically, with sub-topics to pinpoint the area of law you may be interested in. You can also link to Canadian and international cases and equivalent topics in the Canadian Abridgment Digest. 

Abridgment eDigests 

Keep abreast of the latest developments in case law in a multitude of specific topics. The Abridgment eDigests are available as part of your subscription. 

Tribunal Decision Coverage

Access tribunal decisions published in Thomson Reuters reports from inception of the report series, all decisions reported in other print reporters from 1997 forward, and the full text of all decisions reported in Labour Arbitration Cases since 1948. View the full list of tribunals for the federal jurisdiction and common law provinces. 

Index to Canadian Legal Literature (ICLL) 

The ICLL is Canada's only comprehensive legal bibliography, containing books, articles, government publications, audio-visual materials, continuing legal education materials, case comments and annotations (available in English and French). Westlaw provides linking from ICLL references to full text of cases and articles. References are also displayed in KeyCite Canada results. 

Words and Phrases 

The success of litigation and transactions can depend on the precision of your terminology. With Words and Phrases you can access over 70,000 judicial interpretations of statutory and common law terms and how they have been interpreted by the courts. 

LawSource Case Notes Newsletter 

Released 40 times per year, The LawSource Case Notes newsletter on Westlaw is a sample selection from the weekly summaries of notable civil and criminal court decisions published in Law Times newspaper. 

Secondary sources 

Westlaw Canada features exclusive content and tools covering major practice areas that other solutions simply cannot match

Top analytical resources 

Access an unparalleled collection with resources such as the Canadian Encyclopedic Digest; our Topical Texts and Annotations collection; COA (Causes of Action); law reviews; journals and more.

ProView Federated Search 

Discover Secondary Sources on Thomson Reuters ProView® with your Westlaw search. Experience the authority found across the entire ProView eLooseleaf collection in one easy search. Find answers faster by searching multiple resources on Westlaw and the ProView platform simultaneously. Discover invaluable commentary from nearly 300 looseleafs on the ProView platform that you might have otherwise missed.

Additional content

Practice Area Newsletters

Practice specific newsletters provide timely commentary by experts, including analysis of current developments and highlights of important new case law and legislation across Canada.

International

Our international solutions help you understand and apply law from around the world. Get access to a customized collection of international solutions and content on Westlaw® Canada to help you grasp complex laws. More than 30 countries are covered including the Commonwealth jurisdictions of the United Kingdom, Hong Kong and Australia.

Litigation Materials

Access the most comprehensive online collection of litigation materials, including, pleadings, motions, memoranda, and other resources to use throughout all stages of the litigation.

Topical Texts and Annotations

Authoritative texts and annotations from leading experts. Westlaw’s powerful search capabilities, integrated content, research management tools, and exclusive editorial enhancements are accessible all in one place.

Human expertise

Behind the technology there is human expertise providing you with time-saving guidance 

Lawyer-editors 

Our team of bar-admitted Lawyer-editors analyze, categorize, and summarize the law, creating editorial enhancements to help you research more efficiently – and with greater accuracy. 

Expert research support 

The industry’s premier team of legal research support professionals are available 24/7 to keep your research moving forward.  

What our customers are saying

Our customers trust Westlaw for up-to-date, authoritative and actionable content that gives them bulletproof confidence. 

I rely on Westlaw to help me find helpful uncommon cases. In one recent sentencing hearing the judge commented that he was unaware of some of the cases I had cited. These cases clearly had a big impact on his decision, since he commented that “If your lawyer hadn’t done such excellent research and such an outstanding job, I would’ve given you 4 or 5 years.” To me, there is no substitute for thorough research, and for me that means Westlaw.

Lindsay Doucet, J.D. 
Mainwood Legal Services 

I became used to researching the law with hard-copy books … in the past few years, I’ve started using the leading online research system Westlaw …. It raises my confidence level that I’m totally on top of my game…

Bruce MacFarlane, Q.C. 

In practice, I use it on a near daily basis whether it is for researching statutes and regulations for various corporate matters or case law research for immigration appeals, refugee hearings or judicial review proceedings. Westlaw is great because there is guidance material available to help develop research skills, better understand search techniques and shortcuts and I personally have found that the more I use it and discuss with other lawyers I am constantly finding unique uses for the technology. 

Matthew O’Neil 
Barrister and Solicitor

Technical specs

Supported operating systems 

Windows 7, Windows 8.1, and Windows 10 

Mac® OS 10.5 or later

Internet browser 

Internet Explorer® 11 or later (Windows only)  

Mozilla Firefox current version or Extended Support Release version 

Safari® 10.0 or later 

Chrome current version 

Microsoft Edge current version

Mobile apps

iPhone (iOS 10.0 or later, iPhone 5 or later) 

iPad (iOS 10.0 or later, iPad 4th generation or later) 

Android (4.0 or later, Android 4.0 or higher)

Other requirements 

1024x768 or higher screen resolution recommended 

Adobe Acrobat Reader® 9.0 or later (some print functionality is lost with older versions) 

Question about Westlaw Canada? We’re here to support you.

1-800-387-5164

For help and product support, training and customer service, please contact us:

Fonctions de Westlaw Canada

L’outil de confiance pour les chercheurs de l’industrie juridique

Découvrez le contenu et les fonctions faisant de Westlaw Canada la plateforme de recherche juridique la plus fiable depuis des générations

Technologies et outils juridiques à la fine pointe

Westlaw vous offre du contenu à jour et une technologie de pointe pour votre travail de recherche

Des résultats de recherche encore plus pertinents et exhaustifs

Le moteur de recherche juridique le plus avancé au Canada vous aide à obtenir les meilleurs résultats rapidement et en toute confiance.

KeyCite® Canada – Jurilex de décisions et de références législatives

Accédez à un réseau de liens allant de sources primaires à un éventail de documents à l’appui pour vous aider à comprendre le droit.

Contenu mieux organisé et interrelié

Organisez et partagez votre recherche plus efficacement. Créez, marquez et partagez des dossiers pour un accès organisé aux recherches juridiques de votre cabinet.

Intégration

La législation en attente apparaissant avec la législation en vigueur vous aide à anticiper les modifications qui ne sont pas encore en vigueur. Concordances of Legislation vous permet de comparer des lois similaires dans d'autres juridictions comme une aide à l'interprétation et à la compréhension.

Filtres et options de triage pratiques

Concentrez-vous sur l’information qui vous importe le plus.

Pages personnalisées

Personnalisez votre expérience de recherche juridique en ligne en créant une page idéale pour la façon dont vous travaillez. Organisez votre contenu et vos outils de recherche favoris, et éliminez le reste.

Assistant de rédaction

Rationalisez le processus de rédaction avec des outils et des informations complets. L'assistant à la rédaction de litiges est inclus dans tous les abonnements à Westlaw.

Centre de gestion des alertes

Transmettez rapidement et efficacement la bonne information à la bonne personne au sein de votre organisation.

Sources primaires

Westlaw réunit la collection de références juridiques à jour la plus vaste et la plus précise

Jurisprudence

Accédez à une collection complète de décisions importantes. Vous y trouverez des décisions des tribunaux inédites à partir de 1986 et des décisions publiées remontant à 1977. Vous avez aussi accès à des décisions publiées dans des recueils de jurisprudence de Carswell depuis la création de ceux-ci et à des décisions antérieures à 1977 dans certains recueils de jurisprudence et de tribunaux de Westlaw Canada.

Législation

La législation en attente apparaissant avec la législation en vigueur vous aide à anticiper les modifications qui ne sont pas encore en vigueur. Concordances of Legislation vous permet de comparer des lois similaires dans d'autres juridictions comme une aide à l'interprétation et à la compréhension.

The Canadian Abridgment 

Accédez à une vaste collection de plus d’un million de condensés de jurisprudence canadienne classés par question de droit selon une taxinomie unique (le système de classification du Key du Canadian Abridgment). Cette collection, exclusive à Thomson Reuters, englobe pratiquement toutes les décisions publiées ou inédites rendues par les tribunaux depuis 1986, à l’exception des décisions rendues sous le régime du droit civil du Québec.

Canadian Encyclopedic Digest 

Le C.E.D. est l’endroit idéal pour commencer votre recherche juridique. Obtenez un résumé clair du sujet juridique qui vous intéresse, et situez les décisions et les dispositions législatives pertinentes. Plus de 225 sujets sont présentés en ordre alphabétique, avec des sous-catégories pour préciser le domaine du droit qui pourrait vous intéresser. Vous pouvez aussi accéder à des décisions canadiennes et étrangères et aux sujets correspondants dans le Canadian Abridgment Digest.

Abridgment eDigests 

Tenez-vous au courant des récents développements dans la jurisprudence. Recevez des courriels hebdomadaires présentant des condensés de jurisprudence sur de multiples sujets. Les condensés numériques sont accessibles dans le cadre de votre abonnement.

Décisions des tribunaux

Accès aux décisions des tribunaux publiés dans les rapports de Thomson Reuters depuis le début de la série de rapports, toutes les décisions rapportées dans d'autres journaux imprimés à partir de 1997 et le texte intégral de toutes les décisions rapportées dans les affaires d'arbitrage du travail depuis 1948. Voir la liste complète des tribunaux fédéraux juridiction et les provinces de common law.

Index à la documentation juridique au Canada (IDJC)

L’IDJC est la seule bibliographie de tout ce qui a été publié dans le domaine du droit au Canada; elle contient des livres, des articles, des publications gouvernementales, des documents audiovisuels, des documents de formation juridique permanente, des commentaires jurisprudentiels et des annotations (en français ou en anglais). À partir des entrées de l’IDJC, Westlaw Canada fournit des liens qui renvoient au texte intégral des décisions et des articles. Les entrées sont également affichées dans les résultats de KeyCite Canada.

Termes et locutions

Le succès d’un litige ou d’une transaction peut dépendre de la précision de votre terminologie. Grâce à l’outil Termes et locutions, vous pouvez consulter plus de 70 000 interprétations judiciaires de tribunaux de termes législatifs et de common law.

Bulletin de notes de cas LawSource

Publié 40 fois par année, le bulletin LawSource Case Notes sur Westlaw Canada est un échantillon de résumés hebdomadaires portant sur d’importantes décisions des tribunaux civils et criminels publiées dans la publication Law Times.

Sources secondaires

Westlaw Canada propose du contenu et des outils exclusifs tout simplement inégalables, et ce, dans les principaux secteurs de pratique

Principales ressources d’analyse

Accédez à une collection inégalée avec des ressources telles que le Canadian Encyclopedic Digest; notre collection de textes thématiques et d'annotations ; COA (Causes d'action); revues de droit; revues et plus.

Recherche fédérée ProView

Découvrez les sources secondaires sur Thomson Reuters ProView® grâce à la fonction de recherche de Westlaw Canada. Faites l’expérience, en une seule recherche, de la qualité de l’entière collection de feuillets mobiles électroniques sur ProView. Trouvez des réponses plus rapidement en cherchant simultanément dans diverses ressources sur Westlaw Canada et sur la plateforme ProView. Découvrez des analyses inestimables provenant de près de 300 feuillets mobiles électroniques sur la plateforme ProView qui auraient pu vous échapper autrement.

Autre contenu

Nouveaux développements

Des bulletins spécifiques à la pratique fournissent des commentaires opportuns d'experts, y compris une analyse des développements actuels et des faits saillants de la nouvelle jurisprudence et de la législation importantes à travers le Canada.

Droit international

Nos solutions internationales vous aident à comprendre et à appliquer les lois du monde entier. Accédez à une collection personnalisée de solutions et de contenus internationaux sur Westlaw® Canada pour vous aider à comprendre des lois complexes. Plus de 30 pays sont couverts, y compris les juridictions du Commonwealth du Royaume-Uni, de Hong Kong et de l'Australie.

Documents relatifs aux litiges

Accédez à la plus vaste collection en ligne de documents relatifs aux litiges, notamment à des actes de procédure, à des requêtes, à des mémorandums et à d’autres ressources utilisées dans le cadre d’un litige.

Textes et annotations

Textes et annotations faisant autorité et rédigés par des experts 

Les fonctions de recherche puissantes, le contenu intégré, les outils de gestion des recherches et les compléments éditoriaux exclusifs de Westlaw sont tous accessibles au même endroit. 

Expertise

Derrière la technologie se trouve toute l’expertise qui vous aide à gagner du temps

Avocats-rédacteurs

Notre équipe d’avocats-rédacteurs analyse, organise et résume les textes législatifs, et ces compléments éditoriaux rendent votre recherche plus efficace et plus précise.

Soutien à la recherche

La meilleure équipe de professionnels de soutien à la recherche juridique de l’industrie est disponible en tout temps pour propulser votre recherche.

Spécifications techniques

Systèmes d’exploitation pris en charge

Windows 7, Windows 8.1 et Windows 10  

Mac® OS 10.5 ou version ultérieure

Navigateur Internet

Internet Explorer® 11 ou version ultérieure (Windows seulement)  

Mozilla Firefox, dernière version ou version Extended Support Release du canal de mise à jour esr.

Safari® 10.0 ou version ultérieure  

Chrome, dernière version  

Microsoft Edge, dernière version

Applications mobiles

iPhone (iOS 10.0 ou version ultérieure, iPhone 5 ou version ultérieure)

iPad (iOS 10.0 ou version ultérieure, iPad 4e génération ou version ultérieure)

Android (4.0 ou version ultérieure)

Autres exigences

1024x768 ou résolution d’affichage plus élevée recommandée

Adobe Acrobat Reader® 9.0 ou version ultérieure (certaines fonctionnalités d’impression n’étant pas compatibles avec les versions antérieures)

Vous avez des questions concernant Westlaw Canada? Nous sommes là pour vous aider.

1-800-387-5164

Pour joindre le service d’aide et de soutien, le service de formation ou le service à la clientèle, communiquez avec nous: